That new book smell…

I still remember shopping for school supplies.. The smell of new pencils.. Who has the coolest new lunchbox? Etc…

I’ve found that excitement of new school supplies is also valid as an adult when you enter an office supply store. The smell, the touch, the excitement of all the possibilities. This is even more true when you have the blessing of being a homeschool mom who gets to shop for new curriculum. 

Honestly, there are just no words… The new books come in, they smell new (this aroma is even better then the fragrance of a new car or homemade bread, fresh cut grass or leather…). Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t help but feel the excitement the moment everything starts to come in. Yay!! Learning! 

In fact, my kids don’t start until September but we were already sneaking in lessons today. I had been afraid to ask, not wanting to push them – stretch them. They were afraid to ask, worried I wouldn’t want to start already but there we were happily reading and moving forward. 

I wonder how often in life, everyone actually wants the same thing but we are afraid to ask – not wanting to inconvenience each other? 

So, friends… What are your plans this year. Have you already started forming the year or are you flying by the seat of your pants?

 

About eternalphilomathy

Some people love me, and some not so much but I am authentic. I'm not writing this blog to make friends or entice followers but if you want to sit and stay a while - welcome to my world....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

